Moving Forward – Walk, Don’t Run

When one door closes, another opens;
but we often look so long and so
regretfully upon the closed door
that we do not see the one
which has opened for us.

~Alexander Graham Bell~ 

This quote reminds me of how long I have clung to running as my “favorite” form of exercise.  Although it has been many years since I’ve  been able to run I continue to lament the fact that I can no longer do it.  Due to a trauma that my body endured 7 years ago and subsequent back surgery 6 years ago I can no longer run, so you would think that after all this time I would have closed that door, and embraced walking as a perfectly good alternative.  But this is not the case, and I have to admit that when I’m  out walking and see someone run by I’m always a little envious.  I  tell myself  “I’m lucky I can walk” and of course I am grateful for that, but that niggling feeling of loss is always there.  Well I think it’s time for a new mindset, time for me to close tight the door marked “running” and open wide, and walk all the way through, the door labeled “walking”.   It’s  time I fully embrace walking as my new favorite form of exercise to keep my heart healthy.  I listened to a podcast (thank you Susan) a few days ago in which Andrew Weil was talking about walking as the perfect form of exercise, and that is how I will now think of walking – the “perfect” form of exercise for me.  I will put all the many years and miles of running safely behind that closed door and enjoy the memories of countless runs taken, either alone or with  friends, in many beautiful environments – remembering without the longing.

Is there a door in your life that you’re having a hard time closing?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Moving Forward – Walk, Don’t Run

  1. Barbara Beale says:

    Remembering without longing – perfect!

  2. ok. i had to log in???? so here is what i said now 5 times….
    Yup! [in answer to your question] and i have just closed it on monday!
    We rented running the Sahara. I think if you saw it, you might not miss running. it’s a good documentary and Eddie would like it too, i think.
    And, i forgot to thank you for my B.A. I just got the first issue to other day. i have already made the parsnip and carrot fries. Yummy!
    OK that does it, whew! and i’m going to check the send e mail box…here i go!
    xoxoxs

  3. suellen1234 says:

    Well, now let’s see if you receive my reply. I really need a lesson on how to use WordPress to it’s fullest. And, who knows why you had to log in – that has happened to me a few times as well now that I think about it. I haven’t looked at the new issue of BA – maybe I’ll take it on the plane with me – I can something from it while I’m in La Jolla. I’ll check out the parsnip and carrots fries which sound absolutely delicious. Love you.

  4. Margie says:

    I’ve always been a walker. No running for this less than athletic soul. It’s always served me well. Enjoy your trip!

  5. Pingback: If you need a reason to walk … listen up! « Inside Out Cafe

Leave a comment