Home Making

A house is a home when it shelters the body and comforts the soul.

                                     ~Phillip Moffitt

The term homemaker has gotten a bad rap.   Creating a beautiful and nurturing environment requires love and artistry, and can be a most satisfying experience.  As Maya Angelou says,  The ache for home lives in all of us, the safe place where we can go as we are and not be questioned. I have come to embrace the fact that I am a homemaker.  That may be because I have lived in 10 houses in 22 years!  Looking back I realize how much I enjoyed making each space a home.   Many things go into creating this safe place, and as homemakers we are artists continually drawing on our talents to bring into being a beautiful and peaceful environment that welcomes all that walk through its doors.

One simple way to beautify our environment is to bring flowers into our homes.  Flowers are food for our eyes and our souls.

If you’ve never been thrilled to the edges of your soul by a flower in spring bloom, maybe your soul has never been in bloom.

                               ~Terri Guillemets

The elegant tulip

This can be considered an art project that starts when you decide which flowers will grace your home.   Which blossoms call to you?  A multi-colored bouquet or flowers of the same color?  Which vase will showcase them best?  Taking time and care to arrange the blossoms just so can be a meditative experience.  And voila, a work of art to be enjoyed for days!

Arranging a bowl of flowers in the morning can give you a sense of quiet in a crowded day – like writing a poem, or saying a prayer.

                                ~Ann Morrow Lindbergh

Now that I consider myself an “artist of the every day”,  I see the world with new eyes.  What an adventure!  I am taking photos of everything.  The vase of flowers then becomes another art project – a photography project.

A vase of peonies

Pink Peony up close

What does the center look like to you?

A bird's nest?

Thanks to modern technology I am never without a camera – I always have my cell phone.  These days when I am out with the doggies I am in constant awe of the beauty of spring in the Pacific Northwest – something I missed when we were in California.  Often I just have to stop and get it on camera.

Early spring crocuses, the perfect backdrop for our beautiful girls.

I love tulips

Inside out tulip

What's your favorite color tulip?

If you haven't heard of the daffodil principle, google it!

Poppies remind me of Georgia O'Keefe

Notice the bumble bee

They love each other

As you look at this, imagine the smell

Don't forget to look up!

Again, I will end with quotes.

Earth laughs in flowers.

~Ralph Waldo Emerson

Flowers seem intended for the solace of ordinary humanity.

~John Ruskin

Every flower is a soul blossoming in nature.

~Gerald de Nerval

I perhaps owe having become a painter to flowers.

~Claud Money

Whoever loves and understands a garden will find contentment within.

~Chinese Proverb

The temple bell stops but I still hear the sound coming out of the flowers.

~Basho

Nature does not hurry, yet everything is accomplished.

~Lao Tzu

And the day came when the risk it took to remain tight inside the bud was more painful than the risk it took to blossom.

~Anais Nin

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Home Making

  1. Elisabeth says:

    You are a wonderful homemaker indeed! Great blog, great post, great photos, great quotes and of course … GREAT doggies! So enjoyed the previous post as well. Can’t wait to read and see the next entry 🙂 …. love to you, Betsy

  2. You take homemaking to a high art. You even did a great job when you came to my house! i think you are a natural born blogger…love your photos and the quotes are so perfect. I love you suellie..let’s talk Tues.

Leave a Reply

