Everyday Muses

I learned…that inspiration does not come like a bolt, nor is it kinetic, energetic, striving, but it comes all the time, although we must regularly and every day give it a little chance to start flowing, prime it with a little solitude and idleness.
~Brenda Ueland~

 Inspiration is everywhere – in nature, books, art, poetry, friends, family, the person we interact with at the market, food, travel, the air we breathe…  All we have to do is stay open and receptive, engaging all our senses.  So many things inspire me each day, but as Ms. Ueland suggests, it’s important to take time to digest it, really feel it and allow it to sink into my bones.  I discovered a new, favorite word in Brenda’s book, ‘If You Want to Write:  A Book About Art, Independence and Spirit“.  I even love the way the word rolls off my tongue.  The word is moodling – long, inefficient, happy idling, dawdling and puttering that leads to moments of creativity and inspiration.  During these times I plant the seed of what has inspired me and let it germinate for a while until it starts to blossom.  Now at the end of the day when I look back, I see the time I spent puttering (moodling) is a good thing!

Today’s blog is dedicated to my dogs Bella, Hannah and Murphy, who is still with us in spirit.  They are constant sources of inspiration and joy for me.  They are my teachers.  My girls inspire me to live in the present moment, be playful, love well, be enthusiastic and not to take myself too seriously – to put it in a nutshell, they motivate me to fully engage in life. 

I think dogs are the most amazing creatures; they give unconditional love. For me they are the role model for being alive.  ~Gilda Radner

An afternoon nap is good for your health

Put on your dancing shoes and dance!

Be cool

Be an attentive listener

An afternoon in the park is good for the soul

You can never play ball too often

Drink lots of water

Look both ways before you cross the street

Say please

Don't let a little cold weather stop you from having fun

Be thankful for the food you eat

Take a daily walk, rain or shine

Stop and enjoy the beauty that surrounds you

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dogs are our link to paradise.  They don’t know evil or jealousy or discontent.  To sit with a dog on a hillside on a glorious afternoon is to be back in Eden, where doing nothing was not boring – it was peace.

                                           ~Milan Kundera

 

Any glimpse into the life of an animal quickens our own and makes it so much larger and better in every way.~John Muir 

Dogs aren’t our whole lives but they make our lives whole.
~Roger Caras

 Dogs play an important role in my family.  Our dogs hold a special place in our hearts and add to the depth of the love we have for each other.

Mom & Dad with their granddogs

The girls taking Eddie for a walk

Bella and her favorite uncle, Steve

Christmas in Wisconsin

Sunday afternoon in the park

Betsy & Bella enjoying a walk in La Jolla

Mom, Murph and Me

We're hot!

Christmas in Connecticut

Happy Birthday to you

Betsy and her girls

Hannah loves her aunt Jessica

Eddie & Hannah taking a power nap

Halloween in Wisconsin

 

 

 

 

Wherever I go with my girls I meet people.  The love of dogs is a common denominator that opens people to share parts of their lives with one another.  The brief interactions I share with people on our daily dog walks are pleasant interludes in my days.  And then there are the people I have met through my dogs who have become lifetime friends.   Hannah is in our lives as a result of someone stopping me on the street in La Jolla because she used to have a Beardie and wanted to meet Bella.  That woman was Galen who has become a good friend, and we are forever connected because she owns Hannah’s mother.  My dearest and long-time friends share in the love of my dogs – the love going both ways.  Our relationships are enriched by this love.

Barb's got her hands full

Wherever we are, Barb comes to help with the puppy

One big happy family

The girls enjoying a sunny day in La Jolla

Saying goodbye to Murphy

Smurf was loved by many

A walk on Coronada Island

A family portrait

A sunny Sunday in Seattle

Puppy love

New Year's Eve in Vancouver

Whoever said you can’t buy happiness forgot about little puppies.
~Gene Hill

Sweet little Bella

Little Smurf and her big sister Mo

She was so tiny!

Hannah liked to be the boss of her brother, Desi - still does!

She was so adorable

Barb meeting Bella Blue for the first time

Will you play with me?

Sisters meeting for the first time

He is your friend, your partner, your defender, your dog.  You are his life, his love, his leader.  He will be yours,  faithful and true, to the last beat of his heart.  You owe it to him to be worthy of such devotion.
~Author Unkown

We might be a little dirty, but we sure had fun playing in the yard

These flowers taste pretty good

I've got Bella's ball

One of Bella's favorite spots

What's happening over there?


This is comfy

Patiently waiting for Michele

Resting in the shade

I love my toys

Where is that bear?


Yoga dog

We love relaxing with our Dad

A room of my own

Let's go to the park

Not the least hard thing to bear when they go from us, these quiet friends, is that they carry with them so many years of our own lives.

                                   ~John Galsworthy 

                                   

Angel Dog

As you may have realized this is an updated version of an earlier post.  I inadvertently deleted the original a few days ago and just realized it yesterday.  As you can imagine, I was upset, very upset – for a while.  Then I decided to let it go and redo the post with a little editing.  I’m still trying to learn the WordPress formating, which, as you can see, I’m having difficulty with.  I just can’t get the photos where I want them to go, or get rid of those gaping spaces – arrrgh!  However, I’m doing this blog to learn and do new things, so bear with me – I’m finding my way.  Thanks for following along with me.

I realized I didn’t have a picture of two important members of our family, Tom and Monica.  I dug up one photo of them with Smurf and Eddie, and try as I may, I could not get it inserted above, so here it is.


Bella doesn't know I have the ball

The flowers taste good

Cooling off in the shade

 

 

.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

