At Home in Seattle

I long as does every human being,
to be at home wherever I find myself.
~Maya Angelou~ 

Seattle has been my home for more than a year now.  When we decided to move back to the Pacific Northwest after two years in California, the first thing we had to do was find a place to live, so I accompanied Ed on one of his many trips to Seattle.  A lovely, young real estate agent picked me up at our hotel one gray winter morning and off we went to explore a few of the many interesting neighborhoods in which we might live.  We looked at several houses in different areas and ended up in West Seattle, an area that I had never been to.  West Seattle is a peninsula of land that is accessed easily by a bridge just south of the downtown area.  I walked into the house that would become our home and I knew as soon as I looked out the window that I could be happy living here for two years.  The spectacular view has gotten me through a cold, gray winter and spring.

Seattle is a vibrant city and has a palpable, mellow energy about it.  I am enjoying our time here.  However, the lack of light is the reason I’m happy this is a temporary living situation for us.  Seattle averages 58 days of sunshine, 226 cloudy days, 81 partly cloudy days with 155 days of rain per year.

The view I look at every day never ceases to amaze me –  at any time of the day, in any weather.  I am constantly grabbing my camera and shooting.  I have often asked myself “what am I going to do with all these photos?”  Now that I am writing this blog the pictures have a purpose – to be shared with you.  I thought it would be fun to also add some interesting and fun facts about Seattle.  Enjoy.

The Washington State Ferry System is the largest in the country and the third largest in the world, carrying over 25 million passengers annually.  Seattle’s Pier 52 is the busiest ferry terminal in the U.S.

The U.S. Census Bureau lists Seattle as the most educated city in the U.S. with more than half of residents over 25 years old having a bachelor’s degree.

Seattle’s Space Needle was built for the 1962 World’s Fair.  It is 605 feet high at its highest point, 138 feet wide at its widest point and weighs 9,550 tons.  The Space Needle was built to withstand winds of up to 200 miles per hour and earthquakes up to 9.1 magnitude.  The structure has 25 lightning rods on its roof to prevent lightning damage.  The restaurant atop the needle was the country’s first revolving eatery.

Seattleites buy more sunglasses per capita than any other city in the nation.  I think it’s because they lose them during those longs stretches of sun-less days that are so prevalent.

Seattle has the highest percentage of people riding bikes to work compared to other U.S. cities its size.

Seattle is ranked the most literate city by Central Conn. University.  The Seattle Public Library system has the highest percentage of library card holders per capita in the country.

The Farmer’s Market at Pike’s Place is the longest continuously operating farmer’s market in the U. S. (1907)

The Port of Seattle is the 6th busiest in the nation and in the top 50 globally.

Five major cruise lines currently operate weekly service in Seattle.  We see the Norwegian Cruise Line ships come in and out of Eliot Bay – they arrive in the wee hours of the morning and depart at 4:00 in the afternoon.

The globe in the above photo is the Sea-Based X-Band Radar-l, a Boeing-built missile tracking device, which, according to the U.S. Department of Defense, can spot a “baseball at a distance of 2,500 miles.”  The 390-foot-long and 280-foot-tall vessel is in Seattle for repairs and will be part of the skyline until the end of summer.

Seattle regularly ranks as one of the most fit cities in the U.S. with large numbers of outdoor enthusiasts.

Seattle’s total land area is 53,718 acres of which 6,189 acres are parks and open spaces.  That’s 11.52%.  One of our favorite weekend activities is finding a new park to explore with the girls.

So while I’m here, I will enjoy all this great city has to offer, and try hard to take the gray days in stride and light those days from the inside out!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to At Home in Seattle

  1. Betsy says:

    GORGEOUS photos and I love all the Seattle facts! … very interesting!!

  2. Rob says:

    Very interesting stuff…beautiful photos. Where’s the next stop….Santa Fe??

Leave a Reply

