Gray Sky

You have to count on living every
single day in a way you believe
will make you feel good
about your life.
~Mary Oliver~ 

I woke this morning to gray skies and a cool wind.  In yesterday’s post I wrote that I would take this weather in stride and shine my own light.  However, I have to admit,  sometimes that is just plain hard to do – especially in the middle of summer when I yearn for long, warm, sunny days.  That being said, I am determined to follow through on my word.  I decided a good way to lighten my mood would be to find inspiration, which certainly isn’t hard to do – it’s everywhere!  I don’t even have to move off my chair – my computer holds a wealth of inspiring quotes and photos.  I also have a notebook right next to my computer that I fill with words that enkindle the flame of inspiration inside.

Everything is created moment to
moment, always new.  Like
fireworks, this universe is a
celebration and you are the
spectator contemplating the
eternal Fourth of July of
your absolute splendor.
~Francis Lucille~

Within you right now is the power
to do things you never dreamed
possible.  The power becomes
available to you just as soon as
you can change your beliefs.
~Martin Maltz~

What do you dream of doing?
What beliefs hold you back from pursuing your dreams?

I thank God for this most
amazing day;
for the leaping greenly
spirit of trees
and a blue true dream of sky;
and for everything
which is natural, which is
infinite, which is ‘yes’.
~e.e. cummings~

The big question is whether
you are going to be able
to say a hearty YES
to your adventure.
~Joseph Campbell~

I choose to say yes to the adventure of this day!

I will not die an unlived life.
I will not live in fear
of falling or catching fire.
I choose to inhabit my days,
to allow my living to open me,
to make me less afraid,
more accessible;
to loosen my heart
until it becomes a wind,
a torch, a promise.
I choose to risk my significance,
to live so that which comes to me as seed
goes to the next as blossom,
and that which comes to me as blossom,
goes on as fruit.
~Dawna Markova~

To all of you out there who read my blog,  thank you for helping me be true to my word, and myself.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Gray Sky

  1. Tammy Valentino says:

    You my friend are always true to your heart and soul,with every word and deed!
    Much Love!
    Thanks for your light!!!!!

    • suellen1234 says:

      Hey Tammo,
      Thanks for your kind words. You are a true and wonderful friend. I am grateful that our friendship has thrived in spite of the miles between us.
      Sending lots of love to you across the country,

  2. Betsy says:

    I admire your positive outlook, making the most of everything. And you could always come for a visit to Wisconsin … we’ve been having lots of sunshine!!!!

  3. Rob says:

    You could stop in here too! And we could get some lamb you-know-where…and some good…no GREAT cab…and we always have good weather! Love your blog Suellie!

    • suellen1234 says:

      I dream of spending time on Youngs Hill Road with two of my most favorite people in the whole wide world. The four of us would have another grand old time! If we weren’t going to France in September, Maine would be on our agenda. Let’s definitely plan it for next summer. In the meantime we should meet somewhere between Maine and Washington. Any ideas?

  4. Sounds like we’re all here, loving you and learning from your words and deeds. When we briefly spoke last night, I told you how positive I think you always are and how you have such a bright light. I’m a member of a lovely group of like minded friends judging from the comments!

  5. suellen1234 says:

    Our call last night was too brief – I’m missing you mucho! The sun came out this afternoon and it’s a lovely evening, albeit on the cool side. Enjoy your time with Corey and Lynnie and I look forward to talking next Tuesday. And, as always, thanks for your support.

  6. Barbara Beale says:

    A few reasons to be grateful for gray skies:))) Our gray skies are moisture – water is life! Our gray skies are not pollution – oxygen is life! Other parts of the continent are suffering from drought- we live with beautiful verdant landscapes – beauty makes life worth living.

  7. suellen1234 says:

    You are right – we are lucky to live in a beautiful part of the world and not be affected by REALLY bad weather. However, I still long for sunny days and warm summer evenings out on the deck.

Leave a Reply

