Discovery

Be brave enough to live creatively.
The creative is the place where no
one else has ever been.  You have to
leave the city of your comfort and go
into the wilderness of your intuition.
You can’t get there by bus, only by hard
work, risking, and by not quite knowing
what you’re doing.  What you’ll discover
will be wonderful:  yourself.
~Alan Alda~ 


When I came across this quote for the second time this morning, I thought it would be a good opening for today’s post.  Writing this blog is a big part of the creative journey I have embarked upon, and the truth is I don’t quite know what I’m doing, or where I’m going with it.  What I do know is that I’m finding a part of myself that was asleep for a long time, and having fun in the process.  I’m learning so many new things that sometimes my brain feels like it’s on overload, and that’s not a bad thing!  There are countless interesting blogs out there, a few that I follow on a daily basis and some I check in on every once in a while.  They are a source of inspiration for me, and sometimes a catalyst for my insecurities.  I am proud of myself for not letting those insecurities stop me from continuing this leg of my creative journey.

My camera (and phone camera) have become indispensable tools for me.  Everywhere I look I see something that’s photo-worthy.  I’m always looking for different ways to frame a shot – seeing with new eyes.  And then comes the editing – what fun that is!  I really know nothing about photo-editing, or photography in general for that matter, so I have to trust my intuition and my eyes when I’m shooting or editing, working with exposure, definition, shadows, saturation, sharpness, color, de-noise, etc. (what is de-noise anyway?).

When I’m editing a photo, I just start moving the arrows and play with color, light, shadows, definition, cropping…..  Over time I have come to know when it’s time to stop playing with the arrows by trusting the feeling in my body, my intuition, rather than relying on my mind, that has the tendency to endlessly judge whether the photo is good enough.  That is progress for me!

THANKS go out to each and every one of you who reads my blog.  I am truly grateful.  You inspire me to continue.

Love,
SE

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Discovery

  1. I applaud your journey. You are the inspiration! I just plain love you!

  2. suellen1234 says:

    I couldn’t ask for a better friend. I love you!

  3. Tammy Valentino says:

    XXOO Thanks to you my friend!!!

Leave a Reply

