Saying Goodbye

It is not just that animals make the world
more scenic or picturesque.  The lives of
animals are woven into our being –
closer than our own breathing –
and our soul will suffer
when they are gone.
~Gary Kowlalski~ 

Until one has loved an animal,
a part of one’s soul remains  unawakened.
~Antatole France-

Ask the beasts and they will teach
you the beauty of this earth.
~St. Francis of Assisi~

Stephanie said goodbye to Sydney yesterday – one of the hardest things we have to do in our lifetime.  Stephanie, along with my other great friends, stood beside me when I said goodbye to Murphy Dog, and I wanted to be by Steph’s side yesterday.  I wasn’t able to do that physically but my heart and soul were there with her and Syd.   And, the truth is, no matter how many people are standing with us, the pain is still almost unbearable, and the only thing that eases the pain of losing a beloved animal is time – lots of time.  Sydney was one of the most loving dogs I have known and a real goof – she loved to play and enjoy life.  She could bring a smile to anyone’s face no matter what their mood.  I don’t know anyone whose heart wasn’t opened just a little bit wider when she was around.  She will be greatly missed by many but remains in our hearts forever.

…whatever we have enjoyed, we can
never lose…all that we love deeply
becomes a part of us.
~Helen Keller~ 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Saying Goodbye

  1. Tammy Valentino says:

    I am sitting here with tears rolling down my face!!! Our darling dogs give a so much and ask for so little in return, So sad for Steph I send you all much love!! Sorry you couldn’t be there Physically. I know when I lost Ruby my friends were the only things that eased the heartbreak! Amen!

    • suellen1234 says:

      I don’t know if anyone other than dog owners can truly understand what it means to loose a pet. Their lives are so interwoven with ours and they give so much every single day that when they’re gone there is a big hole that never can be completely filled. I like to think of all our angel dogs up there in doggy heaven running around and having a grand time.

  2. Betsy says:

    A beautiful post and all soooo true! So sad ….. I cried when I told Steve about her, just like when I read “The Art of Racing in the Rain” this week. I have to go find Ruffa & Rugby now and give them a hug.

    • suellen1234 says:

      Remember when Sydney was just a tiny little bundle of love, and sitting with all the puppies – what a wonderful experience that was! Give Ruffa and Rugby a hug from me too. And, now I’ll go find Bella and Hannah and let them know how I feel.

  3. Stephanie says:

    Thank you for such a lovely tribute and beautiful photos of her. I can see in her eyes that she was not well, so unusual for her to have her head down, especially for a photo op. Sydney was a true super dog in the eyes of the vets who cared for her and those who knew her. She soldiered on these past few days, not unlike a duracel bunny. No bad days for her. Thank you all for your love and beautiful thoughts.

    • suellen1234 says:

      I’m not sure why your comment didn’t come through to the post. I’ll have to investigate – I must have some setting on that shouldn’t be on??? Syndey was truly an earth angel – sent down to put a smile on our faces. She had so much love to give and was such a good teacher when it came to showing her love and being ready for fun anytime, anywhere. She will always live in my heart, and she can still bring a smile to my face when I think of her. My heart is with you my wonderful friend.

  4. Barbara Beale says:

    Sydney – sweetheart, silly, social, sister, stoic, survivor, sassy, smiling, snuggly, soaring spirit.

  5. Seraphina says:

    *sniff* I’ve had countless kitties and several dogs and each one’s passing is just as painful as the last. My present kitty will be 19 next month, and deciding how to manage his aging and inevitable passing is one of the most difficult things I’ve had to do. Just today I cried just a little bit as I made a decision with the vet not to pursue more testing and just let him live his life. I’ve never known such a powerful love as one from an animal to a human…it truly is the purest form of love. It teaches me so much and leaves me even more grateful.

Leave a Reply

