The Story of the Trees

The oaks and the pines, and their brethren of
the wood, have seen so many suns rise and set,
so many seasons come and go, and so many
generations pass into silence, that we may
well wonder what “the story of the trees”
would be to us if they had tongues to tell
it, or we ears fine enough to understand.
~Author Unknown~ 

Trees are sanctuaries.
Whoever knows how to
listen to them, can
learn the truth.
~Heman Hesse~ 

We can learn a lot from trees:
they are always grounded
but never stop reaching heavenward.
~Everett Mamor~

Keep a green tree in your heart and
perhaps a singing bird will come.
~Chinese Proverb~

It is not so much for its beauty that the forest
makes a claim upon men’s hearts, as for subtle
something, that quality of air that emanation
from old trees, that so wonderfully changes
and renews a weary spirit.
~Robert Lewis Stevenson~

The trees are whispering to me, reminding me of
my roots, and my reach….shhhhh…can you
hear them?  Selflessly sharing
their subtle song.
~Jeb Dickerson~

The wonder is that we can see these trees
and not wonder more.
~Ralph Waldo Emerson~

 Stand before a tree
Be still  Open Heart  Listen
The message is yours

 The last piece above was a Haiku poem written by yours truly.  Haiku is a beautiful and simple form of poetry that was born in Japan in the early 1600’s.  Lately I have been reading more of this type of poetry in books that I search out in used-book stores.  I enjoy Haiku for its simplicity and for the way it easily evokes an image and feeling for me.  I am, once again, going to step further outside my comfort zone and start writing Haiku; and I’m sharing this with you to help me stay on this particular creative path.  Often I have an intention of pursuing something that calls to me, but for some reason or another, it falls by the wayside.  By putting it out in the world, my intention gets anchored.  So I guess this means that you will be reading my poems in the future!

And now I have a challenge for you:  write a Haiku poem about a tree and share it with us on this blog.  If I were like some other bloggers I might give a prize for the best poem, but there will be no best and I don’t have any prizes to give!  I used the 17 syllable format of 3 lines with 5/7/5 syllables, but I have read many Haiku poems that don’t follow this format, so just write from your heart and trust your creative spirit.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Story of the Trees

  1. Rob says:

    Ancient Schoodic Birch
    Long lying near hollow stumps
    Stories never shared.

  2. suellen1234 says:

    Bravo! I love it! Thank you!!

  3. Wise,old apple tree
    too much bounty breaks your limb
    Nature prunes us all.

  4. suellen1234 says:

    I reallly love this one!!!

Leave a Reply

