The First Whisperings of Fall

This morning's sky

After a glorious summer weekend we woke this morning to what feels like a fall day.   The temperature has dropped and the wind is blowing; leaves are starting to fall from the trees, and the summer flowers are coming to the end of their all too short lives.  Autumn has always been my favorite season, and I usually look forward to its start, but for those of us living here in the Pacific Northwest it seems as if summer has just begun, and I, for one, am not quite ready to welcome a new season.  The good news is that the extended weather forecast is for another stretch of warm, sunny days, starting tomorrow.

Today reminds me that the seasons change all too fast, and whether I’m ready or not, autumn will arrive.  Although I have no control over the changing seasons, I can decide how I will spend each day I am alive.  You can bet that I’ll be savoring all the warmth and sunshine in the days to come, readying myself for the arrival of fall.  I will take the time to sit outside on the deck and soak up the rays of the afternoon sun, admire the late-summer flowers in my neighbors’ gardens, stop and watch the summer sun slide down behind the mountains while we’re out on our evening walks, and relish August’s bounty of luscious fruits and vegetables.  And, when summer finally slips into autumn I will be ready.

To be interested in the changing seasons
is a happier state of mind than to be
hopelessly in love with spring.
~George Santayana~

What’s your favorite season?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The First Whisperings of Fall

  1. Betsy says:

    Yet more beautiful photos, beautiful scenery. We too have the feeling of fall in the air … 58 degrees for our early morning dog walk this morning. I too really enjoy fall, and summer, and spring, and just a little bit of winter.

  2. suellen1234 says:

    The changing of seasons was one of the things I missed the most when we lived in La Jolla, although, I have to say, the winters there were easy to live with! I took a lot of shots this morning because the sky kept changing for quite some time, until the rather bland gray clouds took over.

Leave a Reply

