Out of the Gray Sky….

The true harvest of my life is intangible –
a little star dust caught, a portion of
a rainbow I have clutched.
~Henry David Thoreau~

What is it about a rainbow that it always brightens my mood?  Is it because it often appears spontaneously in a dreary, gray sky?  It’s like a little surprise gift from Mother Nature.   Yesterday was one of those blah days; the wee bit of blue sky we saw in the morning gave way to drab, grayish clouds.  It was one of those days when I found it hard to get my energy fuse ignited.  After a morning of moving slowly through the things that needed doing around our home, and a session of what I would describe as “lite” yoga,  I slogged through a workout at the gym, and then allowed myself a much-needed, delicious nap in the late afternoon.   While Ed and I were hanging out before dinner,  (I was engrossed in the September issue of Bon Appetit – lots of great recipes and inspiration!), Ed looked up from whatever he was doing and saw the rainbow, and told me to grab my camera.  Out I went onto the deck to capture the colorful surprise.  The rainbow plays an important role in many myths and legends around the world, and has much symbolism attached to it: good luck, wonder, messenger, bridge, hope….No wonder we are always delighted when we see one.

We woke to gray skies this morning, but now the sun is shining in a blue sky filled with cotton-candy clouds.  I took the above photo because I liked the way the buildings reflected on the water.

If you look for the beautiful
you will find it.
~Ron Atchison~ 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Out of the Gray Sky….

  1. Betsy says:

    What a gorgeous rainbow!

  2. Tammy Valentino says:

    Ah so lovely!!!!!
    esp, loved the poetry!!!

    XXOO

Leave a Reply

