Stumbling on a Poem

The Wild Rose

Sometimes hidden from me
in daily custom and in trust,
so that I live by you unaware
as by the beating of my heart,

suddenly you flare in my sight,
a wild rose blooming at the edge
of thicket, grace and light
where yesterday was only shade,

and once again I am blessed, choosing
again what I chose before.

~Wendell Berry~

I came across this poem in, bird by bird:  Some Instructions on Writing and Life, by Anne Lamott.  I read this book many years ago and decided it was time to re-read it; so this morning I pulled it off the book shelf, sat down in a comfy chair with coffee cup in hand and started to read.  I was only a few pages into it when I found this poem written by Wendell Berry for his wife.  The poem went straight to my heart, and brought tears to my eyes for its beautiful sensibility – he truly loved his wife!

Don’t forget to tell the people in your life how much they mean to you. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stumbling on a Poem

  1. I will never forget how much you mean to me…and don’t you forget either. thanks for the background on that poem. It made it so much more meaningful. xoxo

  2. Pingback: Muriel Rukeyser reads “Despisals” « The Nightly Poem

Leave a Reply

