Welcoming a New Day

When you rise in the morning,
give thanks for the light, for
your life, for your strength.
Give thanks for your food
and for the joy of living.
If you see no reason to
give thanks, the fault
lies in yourself.
~Tecumseh~ 

It is only when we truly know and understand
that we have a limited time on earth – and that
we have no way of knowing when our time is
up, we will then begin to live each day to the
fullest, as if it was the only one we had.
~Elisabeth Kubler Ross~ 

 

The world is new to us every morning –
this is God’s gift; and every man should
believe he is reborn each day.
~Baal Shem Tov~ 

Whether one is twenty, forty, sixty, or eighty;
whether one has succeeded, failed or just
muddled along – life begins each morning!
The greatest fact in life is that it is never
too late to start again.  Biography simply
overflows with inspiring examples of
this truth.  However discouraging
days may have been, keep this
thought burning brightly in
your mind:  life begins
each morning.
~L.M. Hodges~ 

You can become blind by seeing each
day as a similar one.  Each day is a
different one, each day brings a
miracle of its own.  It’s just a
matter of paying attention
to this miracle.
~Paulo Coelho~

I’d like to be able to say to you that I awake each morning with a big smile on my face, eager to get out of bed and  excited to greet the new day; however, I often need to be coaxed into a buoyant mood with reminders like these to stop wasting the precious moments of the morning when the day is rich with promise and possibility.  I, too often, move through the routine of my morning forgetting how blessed I am to have another day to live my life fully. There was a time, some years ago, when I thought I truly understood that I have a limited time on earth, but it seems the urgency to live each day as if it was the only one I had has faded a bit.  So tomorrow, although my morning routine may look the same, my attitude will be different, and I will remind myself to utilize each moment of the day to the fullest.  I know that this wisdom won’t stick completely, but if I can affect small changes I’m on my way to living a fuller life – moment by moment, day by day!

Bella and Hannah are always eager to start each day and they know how to enjoy life – my little role models!

What will you do today to live your life to the fullest?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Welcoming a New Day

  1. thanks for the reminder, sweet suellie! I am in my kitchen, cooking tomato basil soup for the colder days when a tomato is a memory, roasting eggplant for the freezer too. It is a wonderful new day…
    I sent your email to a few folks…..love you

  2. suellen1234 says:

    It sounds like you’re living your day fully and enjoying it! The soup will taste soooo good on a cold winter’s day. I can picture you in the kitchen working away. Interestingly, I made a pasta last night with eggplant and tomato basil tomato sauce – it was yummy. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to go out to my garden to pick the eggplant and tomatoes (only the basil), but I’m not complaining because I have lots of great produce to choose from in my local markets.

Leave a Reply

