Equanimity

To have the radiant calm and unswayed
balance of mind that we call equanimity
is to be like the earth.  This is to be at
home in our own lives.  We see that
this universe is much too big to
hold on to, but the perfect size
for letting go.
~Sharon Salzberg~ 

Sometimes I wonder when the next idea for a post will come, and then, voila, it appears!  The above quote came to me on a bookmark I found while browsing through my book shelf for what I would read next.  I had just finished Anne Lamott’s, bird by bird, which I enjoyed as much, if not more, the second time around, and was looking for another book to call to me.  The bookmark came from my favorite bookstore, Banyen Books, in Vancouver, which has the best bookmarks sitting on the counter for the taking.  I have a collection of them and love coming across one every once in a while tucked away in an old book I read years ago.  This bookmark was not in a book written by Salzberg, but as I write this I am thinking it’s one of her books that I’m meant to re-read. Sharon Salzberg is a Buddhist teacher and a remarkable writer; she co-founded the Insight Meditation Society along with Joseph Goldstein and Jack Kornfield.  Equanimity is something I strive for but, more often than not, it remains elusive.

There often seems to be a playfulness to wise
people, as if  either their equanimity has at its
source this playfulness, or the playfulness
flows from the equanimity; and they
can persuade other people who are
in a state of agitation to calm down
and manage a smile.
~Edward Hoagland~

Even a happy life cannot be without
a measure of darkness and the word
happy would lose its meaning if it
were not balanced by sadness.  It
is far better to take things as
they come with patience
and equanimity.
~Carl Jung~ 

Let the wave of memory, the storm
of desire, the fire of passion pass
through without affecting
your equanimity.
~Sri Sathya Sai Baba~

All of the photos were taken in Sante Fe by Betsy or Steve.  I am missing Sante Fe these days and look forward to spending time there again soon. New Mexico is a place in this world where I feel at home, connected to spirit and the earth, a place where the state of equanimity for me isn’t as fleeting.

Where and when do you feel at home in your own life?



This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Equanimity

  1. That’s an easy question for me…Definitely in my garden. I picked a bushel of tomatoes this morning around 7 am and the air was so fresh and cool and the coriander fragrance hung in the air and oh, I could just rhapsodize forever about the time I spend there. The weather is fabulous today and was yesterday. It’s easier to be calm and present on days like these….and I know that there have been times when i just couldn’t open to the beauty because i was so wound up in my junk. thanks today for your words which gave rise to my appreciation that today is not one of those days. I love you!

  2. suellen1234 says:

    I love to hear you rhapsodize about time you spend in your garden because as I read it I can get a little of the feeling. You live on a magical piece of land and you and Bob have made it even more beautiful. We have great weather here as well and I’m enjoying every minute of it. Stay unwound and ENJOY life. I love you.

Leave a Reply

