The Ripple Effect

Remember there is no such thing
as a small act of kindness.
Every act creates a ripple
with no logical end.
~Scott Adams~

More than anything else, kindness is a
way of life.  It is a way of living and
walking through life.  It is a way of
dealing with all that is – our selves,
our bodies, our dreams and goals,
our enemies, our earth, our animals,
our space, our time, and our very
consciousness.  Do we treat all
creation with kindness?  Isn’t
all creation holy and divine?
~James Maalouf~

The first quote found its way to me this morning in something I was reading on the internet and it got me thinking about the need for kindness in the world today, maybe now more than ever, and how we often underestimate the power of a small act of kindness to affect someone’s life.  It brought to mind the Dalai Lama’s words, Be kind whenever possible.  It is always possible.  There is always enough time for a smile, a compliment, a touch, a kind word, a thank you; truly being present to another human being is, in my mind, a special act of kindness.  I consider myself a kind person, and yet, too often, I don’t give people my full and undivided attention; I might be multi-tasking or wanting to jump into a conversation with my two-cents worth, or just rushing though my activities, not being fully present to the people I interact with. With this in mind, I will make more of an effort, more of the time, to be present to the people I interact with in my life and practice more random acts of kindness.  Who knows how one simple act will ripple out into the world?  And let’s not forget to be kind to ourselves.

If a man be gracious and courteous to
strangers, it shows he is a citizen of
the world, and that his heart is no
island cut off from other lands,
but a continent that joins them.
~Francis Bacon~

When I was young I admired clever people.
Now that I am old, I admire kind people.
~Abraham Joshua Heschel~

Wherever there is a human being, there
is an opportunity for a kindness.
~Seneca~

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

