Le Marche

Market days are an integral part of life in French towns and large villages, a well-surviving part of France’s heritage.  The markets are usually held in the same place, sometimes for many centuries.  It is reputed that there are 35,000 markets in France.

The market stalls are filled with the most amazing fresh vegetables and fruits, cheeses, meats, fish, poultry, breads and baked goods, olives, prepared foods, oils and vinegar, local wines, as well as the wares of local artisans, clothing, jewelry, plants…I could go on and on. As much as I enjoy churches and museums when traveling in France, I am happiest at le marche!

The French like garlic!  Here it is prepared three different ways.

Ed and I shopping for a knife to cut the cheese, sausage, and pate we bought for our lunch in the garden.

This was a demonstration of what can be done with a kitchen tool, which I would call a “mini-mandoline, plus”.  We were so impressed that we walked away with three of them.  Now we’ll see if we can remember how to use it – no instructions inside!

Thank goodness we are in the age of digital cameras.  I couldn’t stop taking pictures.  Now, sorting through my photos, I see I have many more shots of food than anything else at the markets.

After our morning at le marche, we feasted on the most delicious deujuener – the first of many!  Bon appetite!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Le Marche

  1. carol Jennings says:

    a little bit of heaven, so jealous.
    xo
    carol

    • suellen1234 says:

      It was wonderful – I could see Eddie and I living in a small French village for a year, except for the doggies – too hard to get them there – and then there’s the language barrier for me – but I have fun imagining what it would be like.

  2. Betsy says:

    The markets were my favorite thing too … wish we could be there now! I’d buy more of everything!!

    • suellen1234 says:

      We really should start thinking about spending two weeks there in the not-too-distant future. I wish I had bought more pottery. Isn’t that always the way??? I also wish I would have brought some of our “wine” glasses back – oh well.

  3. There could never be too many pictures of food! I also loved the straw bags and hats. Wish I could have joined you for the eats!!! The meal looked delish. How’s the mandoline working?
    xoxo

  4. suellen1234 says:

    You and Bob would have loved this trip and Steve would have been happy to have another another guy (Bob) who knew his way around a boat, although I’m quite sure he liked the challenge. I haven’t opened the package that the mandoline is in yet – I’ll keep it in mind when making tonight’s dinner.

Leave a Reply

