Back Home

No one realizes how beautiful it
is to travel until he comes home
and rests his head on his
old familiar pillow.
~Lin Yutang~  

It’s been two weeks since our return  so I thought I’d take a break from the story of our French adventure and include some photos that I’ve taken in the last week.  I did not pick up my camera for many days, but now I’m back at it – eyes open.  Saturday’s morning sky was the inspiration to start shooting again.

One of the many blessings of traveling for me is being reminded just how much I love my home and all that it gives me.  I am happy to be back to the simple and wonderful life we live here in Seattle.  After two weeks of sunny skies and warm days in France I’m not even minding the rain – yet!

There is not one big cosmic meaning
for all, there is only the meaning we
each give to our life, an individual
meaning, an individual plot, like
an individual novel, a book
for each person.
~Anais Nin~

The personal life lived deeply always
expands into truths beyond itself.
~Anais Nin~

Be happy.  It’s one way
of being wise.
~Colette~ 

You will do foolish things, but
do them with enthusiasm.
~Colette~ 


In keeping with the French theme I have used quotes from two beautiful, strong, interesting French women.  If there was a time machine, these are two women I would love to invite to a dinner party.

Each friend represents a world in us,
a world not born until they arrive,
and it is only by this meeting that
a new world is born.
~Anais Nin~ 

This is my friend Laura who stopped by on her way to Spirit Rock Meditation Center in California.  We hadn’t seen each other in a long time – too long – so you can imagine how wonderful it was to spend time with her.  She’ll be stopping in again on her return home to Salt Spring Island – we have much more to catch up on.  Here’s another quote that seems to fit this photo.

Our perfect companions never
have fewer than four feet.
~Colette~

The possession of knowledge does not
kill the sense of wonder and mystery.
There is always more mystery.
~Anais Nin~ 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Back Home

  1. Betsy says:

    Beautiful photos … always good to be back home again!

  2. suellen1234 says:

    There is always something beautiful to take a picture of and I am grateful for the beauty of my surroundings.

  3. Barbara Beale says:

    What a beautiful picture of Laura – she looks wonderful!

    • suellen1234 says:

      Yes, she’s looking fabulous and is happy. She was here again last night after an amazing week at Spirit Rock – left this morning, hoping to catch the 3:00 ferry to Victoria and then on home to Salt Spring – a long trip home! It was really wonderful to spend some time with her again. How are you after your busy week?

  4. That Colette is something else! invite me when you have her over for dinner. Your friend Laura made me take a double look to make sure that is wasn’t you. pretty close though!
    xoxS

  5. suellen1234 says:

    We’ll invite Collette and Anais and have an amazing evening!

Leave a Reply

