Stop…Sit…Watch…

As muddy water is best cleared by
leaving it alone, it could be argued
that those who sit quietly and do
nothing are making one of the
best possible contributions to
a world in turmoil.

~Alan Watts~ 

When was the last time you just sat and did nothing?  I don’t know about you, but too often I rush through my life caught up in the busyness, and miss out on much of the beauty and wonder.  I feel the need to be productive, and often measure my day by what I’ve crossed off my ‘to-d0’ list.  When I do take the time to sit, I usually pick up my knitting or a book, or when I go to the park with the girls I take a photo of the park bench but seldom sit down and just watch the world go by.

When I do take the time to just sit and watch the world go by it frequently leads to stepping outside myself and acting as an observer, which is interesting and fruitful.  I notice ways in which I operate that go undetected when caught up in the busyness of my life.   I can observe my thoughts and see the self-doubts, fears, self-criticisms, the judging and evaluating; and, as I let my mind wander, without grasping on to any one thought, I come to understand myself better.  As we know, from the observer effect in physics, we change what we watch, so what may appear unproductive is really valuable time spent on our journey home to ourselves.

Take a few moments today (or many) to sit and watch.  Let your mind wander with no expectations.  Enjoy and see where it takes you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stop…Sit…Watch…

  1. Pingback: Video: Alan Watts – What is Tao? | Lifencompass

Leave a Reply

