Signs and Synchronicity

FOR A NEW BEGINNING
by John O’Donohue

In out-of-the-way places of the heart,
Where your thoughts never think to wander,
This beginning has been quietly forming,
Waiting until you are ready to emerge.

For a long time it has watched your desire,
Feeling the emptiness growing inside you,
Noticing how you willed yourself on,
Still unable to leave what you had outgrown.

It watched you play with the seduction of safety,
And the grey promises that sameness whispered,
Heard the waves of turmoil rise and relent,
Wondered would you always live like this.

Then the delight, when your courage kindled.
And out you stepped onto new ground,
Your eyes young again with energy and dream,
A path of plenitude opening before you.

Though your destination is not yet clear
You can trust the promise of this opening;
Unfurl yourself into the grace of beginning
That is one with your life’s desires.

Awaken your spirit to adventure;
Hold nothing back, learn to find ease in risk;
Soon you will be home in a new rhythm
For your soul senses the world that awaits you. 

I happened upon FOR A NEW BEGINNING this morning while searching the Web, and, although I don’t remember what I was initially looking for, I can tell you  I was very excited when I found this poem.  My interest was piqued when I saw the name of the poet, who I had never heard of  until two weeks ago when my friend Susan told me about John O’Donohue and his remarkable writing.  As of late, Susan and I have been talking about the fear we feel when it’s time to step out of our comfort zones – those large leaps that we must take to continue on our journeys home to Self.  (The truth is that sometimes the small leaps are scary as well.)  We’ve talked about how the Universe really does support us and there are often signs that let us know we are on the right path.  The challenge is to stay open to these signs.  The more you pay attention to them, the more you will see.  It’s not about going out and looking, but only about staying awake.  Finding this poem is a great example of what I mean by a sign; and, what I know for sure is that when I listen to the whisperings of the Universe I feel aligned with an all-embracing, all-inclusive, unlimited, harmonious energy.  I feel supported in a big way.  My courage is kindled.

I love the line, unfurl yourself into the grace of beginning that is one with your life’s desires.   What is it that you would unfurl yourself into?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Signs and Synchronicity

  1. How amazing is all this? What could be more true and timely? i am so excited that you found this poem and the author himself. You are definitely in the flow of life, traveling safely and unimpeded. You deserve this gifted ride. I am so joyful as I watch you glide.
    Your writing is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

