Delicious Crunch

I came across the recipe for this granola at Food52, a blog I recently subscribed to, and then later, the same day, I saw it again at Orangette, a blog I’ve followed for quite some time.  The granola got rave reviews in both blogs, so, of course, I had to try it.  The recipe is Nekisia Davis’ Olive Oil and Maple Granola and is sold as Early Bird Food’s Farmhand’s Choice Granola.  Unfortunately, stores where this tasty cereal is available are limited, but fortunately Nekisia was kind enough to give out her recipe.

Ingredients:

2 cups rolled oats
1 cup raw hulled pumpkin seeds
1 cup raw hulled sunflower seeds
1 cup unsweetened coconut chips
1 1/4 cup raw pecans, coarsely chopped
1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
1 teaspoon Kosher salt
3/4 cup maple syrup, preferably Grade B
1/2 cup olive oil
Dried cherries, optional

Preheat oven to 300 F.  Line rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper.

In large bowl, combine the oats, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, coconut chips, pecans, light brown sugar, and salt.  Stir to mix.  Add the olive oil and maple syrup, and stir until well combined.  Spread the mixture in an even layer on the prepared baking sheet.  Bake stirring every 15 minutes, until granola is golden brown and toasted, about 45 minutes.  Remove granola from the oven and season with more salt to taste.  Cool completely on wire rack.  If you like, stir in some dried cherries.  Store in an airtight container.

Notes:  I used dark brown sugar and reduced the amount to 1/4 cup.   I baked the granola on 2 lined baking sheets, rotating shelves when stirring, to help even the browning and toasting.  I couldn’t find coconut chips at my local markets, so I used unsweetened coconut flakes, which worked just fine. I used Grade A maple syrup because that is what I had on hand. Next time I make it I will use Grade B syrup, which has apparently has a more robust flavor.  I added the cherries which I thought were a great additon.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Delicious Crunch

  1. carol Jennings says:

    that’s it, I am trying this today. You are my inspiration Suellen.

  2. rnrmaine says:

    OK…now from “The Granola King”. My secret ingredient is SPELT FLAKES. It gives a nutty flavor unobtainable anywhere else…but hard to get spelt flakes! Just substitue it for some of the oats. Also…I don’t do coconut..it’s not too good for the old heart…and no salt for me either…and I use dried (sweetened) cranberries. I find pecans are a little “dear” around here, so I use Walnuts and Almonds…all chopped up. I make 12 lbs at a time!!! Love you Suellie!

  3. Now from the king’s wife! I found the GRANOLA!!!!, when I was in Portland visiting Sara. It’s a valentine treat for Bob tomorrow. I was really excited to find it and actually put out the $10 for the small bag. you can tell I was way interested in this new recipe.
    I’ll let you know!
    xoxoxs

  4. Barbara Beale says:

    Why do I always read your blog when I’m hungry??? This looks like a great change from the redipe we’ve made for a few years.

  5. carol Jennings says:

    made it, love it, yummy, thanks SE.
    xoxox
    carol

  6. Pingback: Early Bird Granola | SpruceMouse

Leave a Reply

