A Good Mess

Clutter and mess show us that life is being lived. . .
Tidiness makes me think of held breath, of
suspended  animation. . . Perfectionism is
a mean, frozen form of idealism, while
messes are the artists’s true friend.
What people somehow forgot to mention
when we were children was that we need
to make messes in order to find out who
we are and why we are here.
~Anne Lamott~ 

Now you know why I love Anne Lamott.  Reading these words of wisdom earlier this morning has given me a new way to look at the messes surrounding my work spaces.  I am, more often than not, stressed out when I look at the papers and stuff that accumulates in my work areas.  The clean-up and organization of these surfaces is always  on my “to-do” list, and one of the things that doesn’t get crossed off all that often by the end of the day.  I have always looked at this as something I need to fix – “I should be more organized.”  However, now I see that these messes are an important part of creativity, and I find that very freeing!!   

Bella and Hannah tend to be on the messy side as well.   At the start of the evening our living floor is clutter free, but by the time we’re heading upstairs to bed it looks like this (okay, the knitting is mine), stuffed toys, balls and bones everywhere.  I never get stressed out about their messes, only look on them with a smile, knowing they had a good time playing, which is the way I will look at my messes from now on.  Thank you Anne.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Good Mess

  1. Tammy Valentino says:

    Thank You Suellen!!!!
    I love it that I am not the only mess maker!
    XXOO
    Tammo

  2. suellen1234 says:

    It’s because your creative spirit is alive and well!!
    HUGS, SE

  3. Barbara Beale says:

    Funny that we talked about “should” before I read your blog – mental spring cleaning of the inner critics!

  4. suellen1234 says:

    We’ll continue to purge to purge till our dying day, but the good news is that we’re making progress!

  5. thinking about our conversation last night and the “mess” I made yesterday and how it threw me, i listen to you listening to Anne Lamont and feel so much better!
    Think of the mess we could make ‘throwing love’ all over the place!
    xoxox

  6. suellen1234 says:

    If we just keep throwing love on our messes, all will be well!

  7. Pingback: No Such Thing « JRFibonacci's blog: partnering with reality

  8. Pingback: no such thing… as original sin? « JRFibonacci's blog: partnering with reality

Leave a Reply

