Insight and Intuition

The intuitive mind is a sacred gift
and the rational mind is a faithful
servant.  We have created a society
that honors the servant and has
forgotten the gift.

~Albert Einstein~

Just as many of us stop believing in our inner artist as we grow up, we also stop listening to our inner voice, and therefore stop trusting our intuition.  Most of us were taught to work everything out in our  rational mind – to “honor the faithful servant”.  It’s not all that easy to get back to hearing and trusting our inner voice because we’ve lost touch with the language of our body.  However, like learning a new language, or relearning one that we used to know, we have to  listen to it over and over again and start using it in our daily life, and then, once again,  we will understand it fully and speak it fluently.

The mind can assert anything and pretend
it has proved it.  My beliefs I test on my
body, on my intuitional consciousness,
and when I get a response there,
then I accept.

~D.H. Lawrence~

Intuition and creativity go hand in hand.  When you begin again to listen to, and trust, your inner voice  you will most likely find your inner artist waiting for you.  I have spent much time (especially since starting this blog) getting back in touch with my inner artist and like to think that I follow my intuition, but I know that too often I don’t rely on and work with the small voice inside that is trying to lead me to my truth.

You have to leave the city of your comfort
and go into the wilderness of your intuition.
What you’ll discover will be wonderful.
What you’ll discover is yourself. 

~Alan Alda~

I like the above quote by Alan Alda (you’ve seen it in a previous post) because it reminds me that I must keep stepping out of my comfort zone to continue expanding my creative endeavors.  The more I trust what is inside of me, that inner wisdom that’s been there all along, the better I will be able to forge ahead on this wonderful creative path I am traveling.  And as I keep moving forward I gain confidence in my intuition and creative spirit.

Follow your instincts.  That’s where
true wisdom manifests itself.

~Oprah Winfrey~

All of the photos in today’s post were taken in La Jolla, CA by either my sister Betsy, my brother-in-law Steve, or myself.  I know I’ve used a few of them in previous posts, but they are some of my favorites, especially the ones of Bella Blue.  They remind me of why we loved living in that beautiful city.  Hannah and I will be traveling to La Jolla in a couple of weeks to visit my amazing friend Dee and Hannah’s adorable brother Desi.  You’ll be seeing a lot more of La Jolla in the weeks to come.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Insight and Intuition

  1. Pingback: Intuition for a Journey « bluegrassnotes

  2. This article has inspired me to continue working on my own blog

Leave a Reply

