Security

Security is mostly a superstition.
It does not exist in nature.
Life is either a daring adventure
or nothing.  To keep our faces
toward change and behave like
free spirits in the presence of
fate is strength undefeatable.

~Helen Keller~

Only in growth, reform, and change,
paradoxically enough, is true
security to be found.

~Anne Morrow Lindbergh~

The chief danger in life is that you
take too many precautions.

~Alfred Adler~

Security –
1.  freedom from risk or danger; safety
2.  freedom from doubt, anxiety, or fear; confidence
3.  something that gives or assures safety

I agree with Helen Keller – security is mostly a superstition – an illusion we hold onto to feel safe in this world, all the while knowing in our hearts that it doesn’t really exist.  This world we live in is in constant flux and there is no guarantee that danger isn’t lurking around the corner – something that throws us off course, like illness,  or the death of someone we love, to name just two of the many things that can alter the course of our lives.  We must take risks in order to grow, and by letting go of certainties we let go of the safety net.  What I know for sure is that I must step out of my comfort zone more often, behave like a free spirit and embrace life as a daring adventure!


The funny thing is, now that I truly understand and own this truth – that nothing is for sure and everything is possible – I feel energized and have a different sense of security, a new confidence.  I have less doubt, anxiety and fear about making big changes in my life without knowing the end result.  As I mentioned in a recent post – I am getting better at listening to and following the whisperings of my heart.

Leap and the net will appear.

~Julia Cameron~

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Security

  1. Tammy Valentino says:

    You Look Mahvelous!!!!
    Wish I were sitting there next to you!
    Hugs, Tammo

  2. suellen1234 says:

    Wouldn’t that be grand? I miss you. xxoo,SE

  3. I love that quote…Leap and the net will appear! I’ll be sharing that around and remembering it daily myself. Thank you most wonderful friend.
    I think you’re on your way, to leaps and open pathways and reminding me of the same!

  4. suellen1234 says:

    This is a great time of our lives and we are so very, very blessed to be sharing our paths into the future and holding hands as we go along.

  5. Jeane GeorgeWeigel says:

    And I think it’s the difficult aspects of life that offer us the deepest lessons. When we try to protect ourselves from those we are actually stunting our growth. Never has “something that throws us off course” ended up being bad for me. Once I’m through to the other side there are always remarkable gifts to be gained from the experience. When we can truly trust the unfolding of life, our lives become richer. Lovely post Suellen.

Leave a Reply

