Weekly Photo Challenge: Purple

When the deep purple falls over sleepy garden walls
And the stars begin to twinkle in the sky
In the midst of a memory you wander back to me
Breathing my name with a sigh . . .

~Peter DeRose~
‘Deep Purple’

I think it pisses God off if you walk by
the colour purple in a field somewhere
and don’t notice it.

~Alice Walker~

Since purple is a mixture of red and blue it has both warm and cool properties depending on the shade, of which there are many:  lavender, lilac, magenta, fuchsia, puce, wine, mulberry, orchid violet, plum, eggplant, indigo, amethyst and mauve. . . While I was photographing the flowers for this post I was often asking myself, “is this purple or blue”, or “is this purple or pink?”  I don’t think I’ve ever given the color purple so much of my attention.

Luscious lavender
intoxicate the senses
Inhale the beauty

Purple is associated with royalty, wisdom, magic, creativity, wisdom, independence, dignity, imagination, passion, spirituality. . .

Violet is the color of  the  Crown Chakra located at the top of the head and is associated with Divine Wisdom.  It is a color often used in mediation.

Violet has the shortest wavelength of
the spectrum.  Behind it, the invisible
ultraviolet.  Roses are Red. Violets
are Blue.   Poor violet, violated
for a rhyme.

~Derek Jarman~

This is a lavender cream filled dessert that my sister ordered while we were in France, and it was dee-licious!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Purple

  1. Betsy says:

    This post too is great, with all the things with different colors of purple in them. It is a broad ranged color. Great photos … and songs!

    • suellen1234 says:

      Thanks, like I said I’ve never given the color purple much consideration and now realize how many different shades of purple exist. The song ‘Deep Purple” brought back memories, and although I never heard of the other song before now, I think it’s quite beautiful.

  2. Barbara Beale says:

    Ah, “Purple prose” Wonderful pictures and now that I see the video I remeber these performers. Purple really photographs beautifully – wonderful to reflect on such an intense, hypnotizing colour.

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Purple – waldina

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Purple « What's (in) the picture?

  5. eof737 says:

    Your colors area gorgeous! 🙂

  6. eof737 says:

    Meant to say are gorgeous! 🙂

Leave a Reply

