How I Met Hannah’s Mother and Gained a Friend

20121010-082653.jpg

Blessed are those who have the gift of making friends, for it is one of God’s best gifts. It involves many things, but above all, the power of going out of one’s self, and appreciating what is noble and loving in another. ~Thomas Hugh’s~

 

20121010-083003.jpg
I met my friend Galen in La Jolla, CA. I was walking down the street when she pulled her car to the curb, got out, introduced herself and asked if I would come to her house with Bella so her son-in-law could meet a Bearded Collie. Galen had owned a beloved Beardie and was hoping that her daughter and son-in-law, who were looking for a dog, would bring another into the family. In our initial conversation we learned we had a lot in common, including living in, and loving, NYC.

20121010-083422.jpg
Bella and I went to her house the following Sunday to meet her family and her two dogs, Beddy and Raggedy. Here’s where it gets interesting. Our older Beardie, Murphy, had passed away some months earlier and I was finally ready to bring a new dog into our family. I had decided to get a smaller dog so she could travel with me on the plane, and after researching different breeds, I decided on a Havanese. And, as coincidence would have it, Beddy (a Havanese) was pregnant! To make a long story short, after much hemming and hawing about the decision, I decided to take one of the puppies. The rest is history, although there are two more things I’d like to add – the puppies were born on January 4th, my birthday, and Megan and Danny (Galen’s daughter and son-in-law) did get a beautiful, bouncing Beardie.

20121010-084804.jpg
Galen is now back in New York and I’m in Seattle, but our friendship will continue forever. There is a possibility that she may end up in Santa Fe in the future, which would be a very good thing. But no matter where we live, we’ll always be friends. You just never know where a friendship will begin and I’m grateful that I just happened to be in the right place at the right time for this friendship to begin.

20121010-092052.jpg

20121010-092331.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How I Met Hannah’s Mother and Gained a Friend

  1. eof737 says:

    What a great story… 😉

Leave a Reply

