Weekly Photo Challenge: Renewal

Nature often holds up a mirror so we can
see more clearly the ongoing processes of growth,
renewal, and transformation in our lives.

~Unknown Author~

Renew, release, let go.  Yesterday’s gone.
There’s nothing you can do to bring it back.
You can’t should’ve done something.
You can only DO something.
Renew yourself.
Release that attachment.
Today is a new day!

~Steve Marabol~  

Inside myself is a place where I live all alone
and that is where I renew my springs
that never dry up.

~Pearl S. Buck~

Dreams are renewable.  No matter what our age
or condition, there are still untapped 
possibilities
within us and new beauty waiting to be born.

~Dale E. Turner~

Renewal requires opening yourself up
to new ways of thinking and feeling.

~Deborah Day~

I haven’t participated in the Weekly Photo Challenge for a while, but this week’s theme caught my attention:  Renewal.  Self-renewal is essential for growth and well-being, and personally, I need to renew every day – periods of time (sometimes minutes, sometimes hours) to refresh and reawaken my energy, my thoughts, my attitude.   I also like to look at every morning as a time for renewal – a fresh start.  Here are a few definitions of renew  I found online that I especially like:  to begin again, to become new again, to give new life to, to breathe new life into, to recreate, to rejuvenate, restore to freshness.

Ten things I find effective to reinvigorate my mind, body, or spirit – to re-create myself:

1.  A walk in the fresh air
2.  Yoga (sometimes 10 minutes on my yoga mat is enough)
3.  Play with my dogs, or just cuddle with them
4.  A long talk with one of my girlfriends (usually involving laughter)
5.  Create – knit, draw, collage, bead, write, bake
6.  Alternate Nostril Breathing (Nadi Sodhana)
7.  Read poetry
8.  Get lost in a good novel
9.  Read or listen to David Whyte – one of my go-to-guys for inspiration
10. Music – even better when I move my body to the beat

What do you do for self-renewal?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

