Happy New Year

DSC05551

We will open the book.  It’s pages are blank.
We are going to put words on them ourselves.
The book is called Opportunity and its
first chapter is New Year’s Day.

~Edith Lovejoy Pierce~

DSC05550

As you can see from the photos we woke up to another stunning sunrise this morning.  The weather gods bestowed us with blue sky, crisp, cold air, and the most beautiful light for the first day of this new year.

DSC05564I’m energized by the sense of a new beginning that comes with the first day of every year.  It’s a time to look at what I want  for the upcoming year – to consider what’s working well in my life and where change is needed?  It’s been many years since I’ve made New Year’s resolutions, but I do set goals to have direction on this journey that is my life.  I like the image of blank pages that are waiting to be filled day-by-day, because, as Annie Dillard wrote, How we spend our days is, of course, how we spend our lives.  Opportunity awaits me every day to create the life I want to live – I am the artist of my everyday!

DSC05602

And now let us believe in a long year
that is given to us, new, untouched,
full of things that have never been.

~Rumi~

DSC05607

Is life not a hundred times too short
for us to stifle ourselves.

~Friedrich Nietzsche~

Wishing you all a happy and healthy new year filled with much love.  Have fun filling in the blank pages of your Opportunity book.

These photos are just a few of the many I shot today.  The light was amazing and ever-changing – I was inspired.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy New Year

  1. beautiful post suellie and a perfect reminder that we are in part the author of our lives. You are the fresh voice in my ear reminding me of the choices I have and the power in those choices help me to create what i most want. We are the artists of our everyday, yes?
    love you!

  2. eof737 says:

    Glad to reconnect with you this year …
    •.★♥★Happy New Year to You & Yours!★♥★.•
    Eliz

  3. Lovely–I linked to your site from Margie’s blog. Blessings, Ellen

Leave a Reply

