Weekly Photo Challenge: Resolved

DSC05623

Vow to be valiant;
Resolve to be radiant;
Determine to be dynamic;
Strive to be sincere;
Aspire to be attuned.

~William Arthur Ward~

DSC05645

There is no chance, no destiny, no fate,
than can circumvent or hinder or control
the firm resolve of a determined soul.

~Ella Wheeler Wilcox~

DSC05621

I was happy to see this week’s Weekly Photo Challenge theme because I already had a post in mind that fit this theme.  I mentioned in an earlier post that I don’t make new year’s resolutions, but maybe it’s really just a matter of semantics.  What’s the difference between a goal and a resolution?  One of the things that I resolved to take on this year is photo365, taking a photo every day.  Now this isn’t much of a stretch for me because I take lots of pictures, but my intention is to look at what’s around me with fresh awareness; maybe focus more on textures, colors, contrasts, shapes, or my feeling about what I’m looking at.  I find myself in a bit of a rut when it comes to photography, and now I’m ready to take it on as an adventure, let my creative spirit loose, and see where it takes me.  It’s not so much about good technique or quality, although I strive for those things; it’s more about stepping out of the groove I’ve made for myself so I can see the world more clearly, and become a better photographer in the process.

DSC05653Your success and happiness lies in you.
Resolve to keep happy and you shall form
an invincible host against difficulties.

~Helen Keller~

DSC05638

Resolve to be thyself:  and know that
he who finds himself, loses misery.

~Matthew Arnold~

DSC05676

You may be whatever you resolve to be.

~Thomas Stonewall Jackson~

DSC05648

I think a photography class should be a requirement
in all educational programs because it makes
you see the world rather than just look at it.

~Author Unknown~

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Resolved

  1. carol Jennings says:

    I like your intention………creativity is endless. Have fun with it.
    I have some process photos of my new painting that I will send to you.
    They are a fun way to see what is working…or not.
    xo
    carol

    • Suellen says:

      It’s good to look at things anew and see in fresh ways. It’s not that I don’t love taking photos of all the beauty that surrounds me in the scenery, but it’s time to stretch myself again.

  2. Pingback: Photo Project: 52 Bolivian Sundays [week 1, 'Resolved']. « 3rdculturechildren

  3. deelitefulltoo says:

    I love all of this one, my friend.

    The day before yesterday I heard on the news that the the 4th of January was a big day in China for many weddings. . .Apparently the words January Fourth Twenty Thirteen sounds like “I will love you forever” in Mandarin. I told my manicurist and she cocked her head and thought about it and said, yes it did. She is going to talk to a friend who knows the language quite well and get it for me.

    I thought you would like this too. I will send it to you when I can. For me it so describe my little guy.

    Love you too,

    Dee

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Resolved | Mike Hardisty Photography

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Resolved to RESOLVE | Serendipity 13

  6. Margie says:

    You are off and running Suellen! I look forward to seeing them all!

Leave a Reply

