Monday’s Gratitude

DSC05540

Whatever our individual troubles or
challenges may be, it’s important to
pause every now and then to appreciate
all that we have, on every level.  We need
to literally “count our blessings”, give
thanks for them, allow ourselves to enjoy
them, and relish the experience of
prosperity we already have.

~Shakti Gawain~IMG_2029

Gratitude helps you grow and expand;
gratitude brings joy and laughter
into the your life, and into the
lives of those around you.

~Eileen Caddy~

SCAN0489

(Some people) have a wonderful capacity
to appreciate again and again, freshly
and naively, the basic goods of life,
with awe, pleasure, wonder,
and even 
ecstasy.

~A. H. Maslow~

IMG_1830

Much has been written about gratitude journals, and how the simple act of writing about the appreciation and love we have for the people and things around us can help us to be happier, as well as attract more happiness into our lives.  One study done by Robert A. Emmons of the University of California Davis and Michael E. McCullough of the University of Miami found that people who kept a gratitude journal were happier, more optimistic, slept better and worked out more often than those in the control group.  Some people go a step further and get a “gratitude buddy” to share what they’ve written.  This got me thinking.  Although I don’t keep a specific book to list what I’m grateful, I often write about such things in my daily journal.  I’ve decided to take it one step further; on  every Monday, on this blog, I will write about three things I’m grateful for, and ask that you list three things you’re grateful for in the comment section.  Big things, small things, it doesn’t matter.  In fact, I believe it’s useful to take note of, and appreciate all the little things that make our lives easier, happier or just more fun.

The first three photos above represent today’s gratitude list:

1.  My husband, Eddie – I could go on and on about why I’m grateful to be sharing my life with this wonderful man, but the bottom line is: I am so very thankful for the love and support he gives me every day to live my life fully and authentically.

2.  My iPhone camera –  Since I usually have my phone with me, the camera allows me to capture whatever might interest me wherever I am – and  there’s the added bonus that I can share the photo instantly with a friend if I choose.

3.  Nostalgia –  I am grateful for all the beautiful memories I have from childhood that helped shape who I am today.

I look forward to hearing from you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday’s Gratitude

  1. I like the challenge and could use the nudge to do so…Of course I am always grateful for you!
    1. My walking buddy, Leslie. We had a good talk and walk today
    2. Rob, my loyal and loving husband who listened to me today when i needed an ear.
    3. The warm fire in the wood stove and time to sit and read my book

  2. Julia says:

    1. I’m grateful for my husband, now more than ever (he has recently been diagnosed with stage IV metastatic cancer (colon, liver, lungs, lymph nodes) and my new blog is an effort to survive by doing just what you are doing…paying attention to the blessings.
    2. I’m grateful for the support and prayers of so many friends and loved ones who are surrounding us with strength.
    3. I’m grateful that we don’t have to worry about how to pay for excellent health care since my husband is active duty military.

    Even in the worst circumstances there is much to be grateful for! Thanks for helping us see that.

Leave a Reply

