Weekly Photo Challenge: Love

A life in photos

A life in photos

What we once enjoyed and deeply loved
we can never lose.  For all that we
love deeply becomes part of us.

~Helen Keller~

m22

Love began with waking up and
loving my mother’s face.

~George Eliot~

DSC05829DSC05831

A mother’s happiness is like a beacon,
lighting up the future but reflected also
on the past in the guise of fond memories.

~Honore de Balzac~

m

IMG_2019I have been absent from Artist of the Everyday because my mother died two weeks ago today, 18 days after her 92 birthday.  Although her failing health was the official cause of her death, I believe she died of having lived a full life. Connie was ready to leave this earth, to be with my dad once again, along with her large family and many friends who went before her.

I’ve been in Wisconsin with my family where we shared countless wonderful memories of our mother’s love.  We laughed, we cried, and although we will miss her every day, along with the grief we feel gratitude that she was able to be relatively active till the end of her life.

The last photo above was taken this past Christmas season when my sister, mom and I were decorating cookies, a family tradition of which I have many fond memories.  However, I will cherish the memory of this last time the most.

The George children, together again.

The George children, together again.

Together again

Smiling together again

The life of the dead is placed in
the memory of the living.

~Marcus Tullius Cicero~

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Love

  1. eggsinmybasket says:

    So beautiful Suellie, and such a tribute to your mom and your family. I bet you felt a good feeling after you published this. good work, sweet one!

  2. Grace Kane says:

    This is lovely:) I just got off the phone with my Mum who will be 94 on Feb. 4th. My Dad died a few years ago at 94 himself. There is nothing like the love of ones parents…and the love we feel for them always. I am a lucky – youngest of 8 siblings – child…and all but my Dad are still up and running:) Thanks for your lovely blog sharing, I always enjoy them and re-post many of the quotes!

    • Suellen says:

      How wonderful to have a large and loving family. My mom came from a family of 8 children as well, and I loved hearing the stories of her childhood. And, I’m grateful to have a large extended family with lots of great memories with my cousins, aunts and uncles.

  3. Aw Suellen, what a lovely tribute to your momma. We should all live a full life like she did. Extra hugs, Margie

    • Suellen says:

      Thanks for you thoughts and kind words. She had a long and full life and it’s comforting to know she was ready to move on, but, of course, I miss her.

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge-Love: Mother’s Love is the Best in the World! | My.Vivid.Visions

Leave a Reply

