Weekly Photo Challenge: Nostalgic

The start of a beautiful relationship

The start of a beautiful relationship

There is a lovely warmness about feelings of
nostalgia as though in one’s head one is putting
on a pair of comfy old slippers and curling
up in front of a fire.

~William E. Geist~

Annual family holiday - Sanibel Island

Annual family holiday – Sanibel Island

Nostalgia is a file that removes the
rough edges from the good old days.

~Terry Eagleton~

Murphy's first day in her new home.

Murphy’s first day in her new home, with her big “sister”

Nostalgia made me feel that my life had roots
and continuity.  It made me feel good about
myself and my relationships.  It provided
texture to my life and gave me
strength to move forward.

~Constantine Sedikides~

A sunny day in Vancouver

A sunny day in Vancouver

When looking for quotes for this week’s photo challenge, I found that the majority of them looked at nostalgia as a negative emotion, which is not my experience of looking back at all the wonderful times of my life.  I put the post on hold rethinking how I would create it.  This is one of those times that procrastination paid off.  On Tuesday there was  an article in the NY Times:  Fond Remembrances, written by John Tierney.  The tag line reads: “Nostalgia, long considered a disorder, is now recognized as a largely positive emotion.”  Tierney writes about studies pioneered by Dr. Constantine Sedikides and done by many researchers around the world. The studies have found: “Nostalgia has been shown to counteract loneliness, boredom and anxiety.  It makes people more generous to strangers and more tolerant of outsiders.  Couples feel closer and look happier when they’re sharing nostalgic memories.  On cold days, or in cold rooms, people use nostalgia to literally feel warmer.”  Dr. Sedikides says, “Nostalgia makes us a bit more human”.

Dad & me in Vancouver

Dad, Murphy & me in Vancouver

What’s wrong with a bit of nostalgia
between friends?  I think nostalgia
gets too much of a bad press.

~Terry Eagleton

1:15:06_25

I had to add this photo even though it’s appeared in my blog before.  This one’s for my wonderful sister, Betsy, who played a major role in my happy childhood.

Christmas in Connectticutt

Christmas in Connecticut

Looking through my photo library deciding which photos to use for this post was a lot of fun, but it was hard to choose because I am blessed with so many warm, fuzzy memories.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Nostalgic

  1. Betsy says:

    Great photos … except for the one of us cowgirls! Hmmm, I never thought of nostalgia as being negative, and now glad to hear it is not.

  2. Suellen says:

    What I love about that photo is our bangs – OMG!

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Nostalgia | small house/BIG GARDEN

  4. Great retake on nostalgia. The picture of you and Betsy on the pony is priceless. Just love those bangs!

  5. Suellen says:

    I don’t know what my mother was thinking when she cut our bangs. I remember her doing it with a piece of scotch tape.

  6. The dogs in the last picture are sooooo cute!!! Fluffballs!

  7. Suellen says:

    Murphy is no longer with us, but Bella Blue is still as fluffy and as adorable as ever.

Leave a Reply

