Weekly Photo Challenge: Joy

Creative friends, Galen  and Gordon

Joy = Being with my wonderful friend Galen and making a new friend, Gordon

Count your joys instead of woes.
Count your friends instead of foes.

~Irish Proverb~

Joy = watching my friend, Lois (top right) decorate cookies for the first time

Joy = watching my friend, Lois (top left) decorate cookies for the first time

Simply be who you are,
do what you do best,
be where you are called by joy,
and let life works its magic on you.

~Alan Cohen~

Celebrating the holidays with good friends.

Joy = Celebrating the holidays with good friends.

Joy is what happens when we
allow ourselves to recognize

how good things really are.

~Marianne Williamson~

A joy-full home

A joy-full home

The world is extremely interesting
to a joyful soul.

~Alexandra Stoddard~

Our morning ritual:  coffee, writing, reading, cuddling

Joy in the morning =  my girls, coffee, my journal and inspirational reading

Joy does not simply happen to us.
We have to choose joy and
keep choosing it every day.

~Henri Nouwen~

Watching a football game

Joy = Watching Eddie and Hannah watching a football game

May all beings learn to nourish
themselves with joy every day.

~Thich Nhat Hanh~

Christmas Eve on Canyon Road - Galen and I warming up in front of the fire.

  Joy = Christmas Eve on Canyon Road – Galen and I warming up in front of the fire.

Joy is not in things.
It is in us.

~Richard Wagner~

Santa Fe Plaza lit up for the holidays

Joy = Walking through the Santa Fe Plaza on Christmas Eve

I didn’t intend to take a break from my blog during the holidays, but it happened.  Life got very busy and there just didn’t seem to be enough time to do it all.  My plate is still full; however, when I saw the theme for this week’s photo challenge, it was the inspiration I needed to make time to create a post.  Who doesn’t want to create something when the topic is JOY?  As I sit here at my computer in my studio I realize that this is “where [I] am called by joy”.  As I look out at the mountains, the vast blue sky and the juniper trees I feel life “work its magic on [my] behalf.”

Joy = Walking my dogs down the street where I live

Joy = Walking my dogs down the street where I live

Where there is joy there is creation.
Where there is no joy there is no creation:
know the nature of joy.

~Upanishads~

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Joy

  1. WOW! that surely expresses the many faces of joy! Beautiful post, beautiful YOU!

  2. Well, I believe you covered the “joy”front dear Suellen! Henry and Alexandra’s quotes are my faves. If you haven’t read “Living a Beautiful Life” by Stoddard, find it immediately. It is old, but her all time best. I gave so many as gifts, I lost count. Happy Almost New Year! Hugs, Margie

Leave a Reply

