New York State of Mind

20121008-091732.jpg

As for New York City, it’s a place apart. There is not a match in any other country in the world. ~Pearl S. Buck~

20121008-092157.jpg

Cut off as I am, it is inevitable that I should sometimes feel like a shadow walking in a shadowy world. When this happens I ask to be taken to New York City. Always I return home weary but I have the comforting certainty that mankind is real flesh and I myself am not a dream. ~Helen Keller~

20121008-092642.jpg

If you want to become a real New Yorker, there’s only one rule: You have to believe New York is, has been, and always will be the greatest city on earth, the center of the universe. ~Ellen R. Shapiro

20121008-093004.jpg

New York is the biggest collection of villages in the world. ~Alistair Cooke~

20121008-093422.jpg
I took these photos on Saturday when we hit the pavement and walked in two of the neighborhoods in which we lived. We’re staying at the Lucerne which is located on the Upper West Side, just blocks away from the last apartment we lived in, so once I got out on the street I was back into “the New York state of mind”.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New York State of Mind

  1. Betsy says:

    finally getting email notification again of your posts. Seeing the photos makes me want to take a quick trip to NYC … been a long time for me too. What fun just walking around and people watching. In the rest of the photos you take, everyone will be doning winter jackets. Enjoy!!!!

  2. eof737 says:

    Cool shots! Wish we had met for coffee. 😉 I love NY.

  3. carol jennings says:

    Nice SE. Hope all is good. Mo’s birthday looked great. On the road towards home today. Ferry to Athens. Amsterdam tomorrow night then home Friday. We are all so fortunate!!!! Love Carol

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a comment